March 24, 2011

Black Swan: A Movie Review

Share


After watching Black Swan, I can say that it is the most disturbing psychological thriller of the year. Before watching the movie, I thought it was just an ordinary inspirational film about a ballerina dancer achieving her dreams; a plot like Burlesque or Coyote Ugly. But you see, I was wrong.

Nina Sayers, played by Natalie Portman, is a fragile and repressed ballerina who struggles to win the lead role in Tchaikovsky's "Swan Lake", a role that will require her to play both the delicate white (Princess Odette) and the evil black swan (Odile). The company's artistic director Thomas Leroy, played by Vincent Cassel, insists Nina to "lose herself" in order for her to justify the role. The whole story will evolve there, as Nina slowly loses herself literally as she becomes more and more like the evil swan.


While the staff behind Black Swan is amazing, this film couldn't work without Natalie Portman. I never thought that she would play such a different character, judging by her previous roles on her movies I was able to watch. Not to mention Queen Amidala of Star Wars, of course. She was able to embrace Nina Sayers' slow decent into insanity with such compelling grace. Her flexibility, from being so naive and innocent to being evil, had really made this her best performance of her career.

Black Swan director, Darren Aronofsky, did a great job in making a film capable of evoking reactions in the audience. It was also an easy Oscar candidate in several categories. It is indeed a film worth-watching, and I will definitely add it on my top-collection of dvds.

March 23, 2011

GMA 7's Comedy Bar Comedian Tomas Gonzales Found Dead

Share



Another unexpected death of a TV personality.

GMA 7's Comedy Bar mainstay talent, Tomas Gonzales, was found dead in his room last Monday night. According to reports, heart attack was the cause of his sudden death.

Aside from Comedy Bar, he was also casted in a Kapuso's primetime drama show, "Beauty Queen". He was also a part of Carmina Villaroel and Zoren Legazpi's "Love ni Mister, Love ni Misis".

He was supposed to have a show at The Library Bar in Malate yesterday (Tuesday) but because of his death, it became a benefit show and a tribute for him.

I am an avid viewer of Comedy Bar so I will definitely miss him. The show will not be the same without him.



March 21, 2011

The Truth On Marriage Life: A Lesson From The Baker King

Share


While I was watching The Baker King DVD last night, something had struck me from the scene where in Eula / Shin Yoo Kyung (Eugene) was kneeling infront of Madam Sandra / Seo In Sook (Jun In Hwa) while giving her threats (instead of a warm blessing and approval) about her upcoming marriage with Matthew / Goo Ma Joon (Joo Won). She said something like, "Half of the love the men are feeling for their women automatically fades after wedding."

Maybe, she's right (I mean, the writers are right.). I can say that I am a living witness, and so are the married women close to me. "Boyfriend-girlfriend relationship" is fun and remarkable. During the course, you will feel all the sparks and the joys which we can watch on romantic movies. All those delights may last until your honeymoon night, or probably until your first 3 months of being married.

Marriage life isn't like living in a fantasy land. If you had a rough bf-gf relationship and you think marriage is the only way to fix it, you're wrong. Ladies, before marrying the men you love, you must prepare yourselves emotionally. Don't make your guys promise, because even the most honest man on earth can't fight these changes. Stop expecting that the sparks will remain until you're both sitting on old rocking chairs scolding kids infront of your porch. There are a lot of things your husbands would tend to focus on; like getting a stable job, formulating ways to win a promotion, etc.

Being prepared is the only way to survive it. Just go with the flow. Make your own priorities. Marriage life can be enjoyable, if you know how to handle it properly.


March 14, 2011

Tragedies in USA and Japan: Signs Of The End Of The World In 2012

Share



I got goosebumps after receiving a text message from one of my friends. Here's a copy of the message she sent:

America, one of the most powerful, lost thousands of lives last 09-10-11...

Now...

Japan, one of the richest and wisest, lost thousands of lives last 03-10-11...

Add the dates...

09-11-01 + 03-10-11 = 12-21-12 (December 21, 2012)

December 21, 2012 is the last date in the Mayan Calendar and in the movie 2012. Think about it.


I really gave some thoughts about it. Is this just a coincidence? Or is this a sign? Prayers are the only powerful weapons we can hold to right now.


March 13, 2011

Postcard As An Effective Way Of Marketing

Share



During the 1800's, postcards are used to send private messages by individuals because the cost of mailing them are way cheaper than regular letters. People often send postcards from vacations or just to simply say "Hello".

Today, postcards are used for advertising purposes. Why use a postcard instead of using a piece of paper? Maybe you're one of the many folks who gives no attention to a simple "black and white" flyer. Postcards are printed on better paper than flyers. As a result, it gives us a stronger visual motif increasing the odds of people looking at them.

Postcard marketing is very affordable, especially when compared to other mediums like newspapers and television ads. This can also be a good replacement for business cards. Make sure that you include your contact information on the postcards you're sending or giving away.

Another thing that makes this marketing effective is that 100% of the people who receive your postcards will read them because normally, we've wanted to make sure that our messages there will be brief. Not only that, there's no envelope to slice open and no letter or unnecessary brochure to unfold. People can read them with just a single twist of the hand.

It is also proven that postcards are effective in generating prospects and responses to 95%. And because of its affordability, even the smallest businesses can implement this kind of marketing strategy. In addition to that, you can also track your results by telling your recipients to bring the card into your store for a special discount.

ShareThis

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Just My Personal Opinions © Template by Pink Diamond