April 28, 2009

Swine Flu Outbreak: Latest Report and Tips

Share

SWINE INFLUENZA VIRUS (also known as SIV) refers to influenza cases that are caused by Orthomyxoviruses that are endemic to pig populations. The CDC have stated that the symptoms of swine flu are similar to those of other strains of human flu including fever, cough, sore throat, body aches, headaches, chills, and fatigue. This is known to be an air-bourne disease, and that's the worst part. It can be easily transmitted from an animal to a person or from a person to a person. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Swine_Flu )


There's a big outbreak that killed hundreds of people starting in Mexico. There are also reported cases from Canada, California, Kansas, New York City, Ohio, and Texas. And the latest (as of now) was in Scotland. Here in the Philippines, they installed a gadget at the Arrival Station in Ninoy Aquino International Airport (a teeny-weeny monitor that can accurately determine a person's body temperature from a distance). When a person's temperature reaches above 37 degrees, they'll quarantine him and if he's positive with the SIV's symptoms, he'll be immediately sent to San Lazaro Hospital (top one of the most scariest hospitals in my list). Great idea, right? But I think it would be greater if they'll put that kind of security and gadget in every international airport in the Philippines. It's like preventing a serial killer from coming inside your house and guarding only the front door... totally forgetting about the windows and the back or kitchen door.

Even your country's still safe, it will be much better to take these extra safety precautions:

1. Cover your nose and mouth when you sneeze or cough. Throw the tissue immediately in the trash.

2. Wash your hands often with soap and water, preferably those alcohol-based soaps.

3. Avoid touching your eyes, nose or mouth. Germs easily spread that way.

4. Avoid too much contact with other people. Avod going to crowded places.

5. If you get sick, stay home.

April 23, 2009

Marian Rivera is the Next Darna!

Share


It's already confirmed... Marian Rivera will be the next Darna in GMA 7.

This news didn't surprise me. But what bothers me most is the fact that GMA 7 will launch another Darna TV Series. The first one was starred by Angel Locsin last 2005. Are they making a buzz of rivalry between these 2 gorgeous women? Or is this their own little way to irritate Angel? Nobody knows.


Wishing you all the luck, Marian. You must start practicing "DARNA!!!!!" as early as now. Unless Regine Velasquez's magnificent voice will play the part.. again?


April 21, 2009

GMA 7's Outrageous and Courageous: Wake Up!

Share

Let's face it. Marvin Agustin and this puppet canNOT host this show properly. How about replacing the hosts? Or thinking of a brand new concept and scripts?

Or how about replacing this show with a brand new one?... I mean, the station already have a Pinoy Version of Ripley's Believe it or Not, and Kap's Amazing Stories. The previous shows like World Records and Full Force Nature didn't even make it. Why? Because most of the viewers were fed up.

A new night tv show without some "wanna-be-funny" hosts and filed "extraordinary" videos will be great and will be much appreciated.

April 20, 2009

Marian Rivera: A Review

Share


Marian Rivera is one of the biggest female actresses nowadays. I guess she was discovered from her first ever tv commerical (Skyflakes). She was first starred in an afternoon soap opera "Kung Mamahalin Mo Lang Ako" with Camille Pratts and Ehra Madrigal. Later, GMA cast her into mother roles in "Muli" and "Super Twins".

In 2007, she starred the title role of the Filipino Remake of Marimar... which had become her biggest break in Philippine Showbizness. In 2008, she also played the role of Dyesebel (a legendary mermaid). She was again paired up with Dingdong Dantes, who was also her leading man in Marimar. Currently, the pair can be seen in their 3rd drama show together, "Ang Babaeng Hinugot sa Aking Tadyang".





I like Marian. She's one of the prettiest girl in showbiz today. She's perfect (well, almost). There's just something different with the way she speaks. It's not her voice, I guess it's the way how she deliver her words. She should also refrain from using "Umayos ka ha!" or other slangs and she should, atleast, regulate the way she says "Naaakss!" infront of the camera. I know that there's nothing wrong with these, it's just that it doesn't go with the way she looks. I really think she have to do something about it because sooner of later, she will really need it.


CLICK HERE to see other people's opinions regarding this topic.


For Marian Rivera's fans, don't get me wrong. I admire her. But this is just my opinion.:-)

The Truth Behind Unexpected Break-Ups and Heartbreaks

Share



How to deal with an unexpected breakup? That's one of the hardest situations every person in a relationship may face.

The truth is, THERE IS NO UNEXPECTED BREAK-UP. This is just for the people who let their hearts take over their minds. You can see the truth, you can see what's happening... but your heart keeps on denying it. Or in some cases, you know the truth but you keep on holding onto the wrong one.

The wise ones can predict the timeframe of their relationships. How? Simple. Just by observing and thinking. I myself is one of those "wise ones" I'm talking about. I love... but I always see to it that my brain is always above my heart (I guess that's the reason why God created the brain on top of our bodies). As a wise one, I can easily deal with love problems and especially, break-ups.

I was badly hurt before. My first ever relationship didn't go well as I and everyone had expected. It was a long-term relationship and during the course, I can easily count the happy moments with my fingers. Everyone was calling me a "martyr".. yes, I was a martyr. I was the only one wanting that relationship to work. I tried everything, from begging to trying to commit suicide infront of him (I know, right!). Until the "big day" came, we broke up, and I couldn't do anything to revive that stupid relationship. I left, I transferred to a place 86 kilometers from him. It took me more than a year to pick up the shattered pieces of myself. I started a new life in a new place, with a bunch of new people.

From that day of my resurrection, I made sure that that will be my last stupid relationship. I can no longer afford to let my heart be broken by anyone.. ANYONE. But I didn't hate love. I still involved myself into relationships, but this time, more wisely.

April 18, 2009

Free Simple Ways to Lose Weight

Share



Here are my own personal ways to lose weight. And it really worked for me! I lost 2.8 lbs in one week (I'm not selling anything, ok!)..

1. Drink 2 glasses of water 15 minutes after waking up and 30 minutes before having breakfast.

2. Eat one cup of rice in the morning, eat a half-cup of rice at lunch, no rice at dinner.

3. As much as possible, avoid fried dishes. Or at least, make it once a day (preferably at breakfast). Go for steamed or roasted dishes.

4. Drink one glass of water before meal.

5. While eating: Bite, Drink, Bite, Drink, Bite, Drink...

6. Eat on time.

7. Sleep early to avoid midnight snacks.

8. Quit smoking, drinking alchohol and softdrinks.

9. DON'T believe on Diet Sodas. CLICK HERE to see why.

10. If you do exercises and crunches, make sure YOU SWEAT!

11. Focus on your goal. Post a photo of your desired body at the wall beside your bed.

12. Learn to love vegetables. But that doesn't mean you should stop eating meat. Just regulate it.

13. Make it a daily habit to weigh yourself every morning and measure your belly. That will keep you going.


That's it! No need to buy those expensive and dangerous diet pills, teas, etc. It will be difficult for starters. But if you really want to achieve something, you should work hard on it!

April 16, 2009

Mrs.Trinidad Etong: Rest in Peace

Share


After the tragic "suicide or foul play" incident involving the wife of Mr. Ted Failon, Mrs. Trinidad Etong passed away at around 8:50 this evening.


According to the doctors, the immediate cause of death is penetrating cranial missile injury and then disseminated intravascular coagulation, and subsequent multi-organ failure. After 20 minutes of trying to revive her, the doctor and medical staff gave up. (Source: GMANews.tv)


I just hope that the investigators will soon find out the truth about her sudden death. May her soul rest in peace.


Our prayers to her family and loved ones.

April 15, 2009

Ted Failon's Wife Found With A Gunshot in Her Head: Suicide or Foul Play?

Share



Ted Failon's wife, Trinidad Arteche Etong, was found earlier today (April 15, 2009) inside their bathroom with a gunshot in her head.
Failon told the investigators that he and his wife had an argument last Tuesday Night but they had already settled their differences this morning.

Failon left early this morning for his morning radio talk show and was back at this house at around 10:20am after talking to his wife over the phone. When he got home, the bathroom's door was locked. After opening it with a key, Failon told investigators that he found his wife full of blood, sitting on the toilet bowl. Based on the hospital description, the bullet entered her left temple exiting through the right.
Investigators also recovered a letter allegedly written by Trinidad (incomplete):

"Papa, I'm so sorry gusto kong magsabi ng totoo pero hindi ko alam kung
paano umpisahan. Natatakot ako kaya umalis ako... Sorry, sorry. -Mama"

Based on the investigators, the incident wasn't reported immediately and upon discovering the scene, it had already been cleaned up by the househelp. They also noted that although the entry wound was on the victim's left temple, the .380 caliber she was shot with was on her right side.
The hospital already said that Trinidad is now brain dead. Let's just pray that there'll be a miracle recovery. I hope that the truth will be revealed soon.
Source: Inquirer.net

April 6, 2009

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince the Movie: A Slight Touch

Share


Finally! After 8 months of delay, the 6th part of Harry Potter the Movie (The Half Blood Prince) will be released on July 17, 2009! Rumors said that the reason why they weren't able to release it on the original date (which is November 21, 2008) is because of Twilight.

I've read all the books, from Sorcerer's Stone (first installment) to Deathly Hallows (last installment). This is the part where all my tears fell. I admire Professor Albus Dumbledore, and I had a hard time accepting that he was killed by Severus Snape at the last part. But after reading the 7th installment which is "The Deathly Hallows", I was kinda relieved and my hatred for Snape subsided.:-) For full synopsis, CLICK HERE

Hopefully, the movie adaptation will be as accurate as the real storyline. I'm looking forward to watch this in the big screen... with a pile of toilet paper!

For the official trailer, CLICK HERE

Angels and Demons the Movie: A Test of Faith

Share


Angels and Demons is a best-selling mystery-thriller fiction novel written by Dan Brown... who's also behind the controversial book, The DaVinci Code. The novel evolves around the quest of Robert Langdon, a fictional Harvard University Symbologist, who is the main character of the story. The book utilizes the historical conflict between science and religion.

For a plot summary, CLICK HERE

In the movie adaptation, which is due to come in theaters this coming May 2009, Tom Hanks will play the role of Robert Langdon.


Meanwhile, reports say that Vatican is planning to boycott this film. They didn't even allow the production to shoot in it's holy buildings. I have nothing against it, personally. I guess it's just natural for these Church officials to react like that, especially when it comes to these "kind" of matters. But their plan really caused a boomerang effect. They had, unawarely, caused more people to be interested to see the movie.

Oh well, like any other movies, this only serves as an entertainment. It's up to the people if they're going to believe the movie's perception or not... I mean, it's up to their FAITH.

According to Church's teachings, sometimes God tests our faith in Him. Maybe this is one of them. And if that's the case, no powerful Church Official can stop it.

April 5, 2009

Abu Sayyaf Group Threatens Again!!

Share


The terrorist group threatens again! According to the latest reports, they will behead the 2 remaining hostages (Italian Eugenio Vagni and Swiss Andreas Notter) if the Filipino Troops won't pull out permanently in Sulu.



Looking back, they already beheaded an American National Hostage last 2001.




Maybe this is what the government thinks... if they'll give in to the group's demand/s, the hostagings will never end. Of course, they wouldn't tolerate them. But on the other hand, lives are at stake. But in this case, I guess there's nothing wrong if there'll be a temporary pull-out on the government troops' side.




Oh God, I just hope that everything will turn out fine soon.

April 3, 2009

My Personal Appeal to the Abu Sayyaf Men

Share



As you all know, the latest was the kidnapping of the three Red Cross Volunteers - Eugenio Vagni (Italian), Andreas Notter (Swiss), and Mary Jean Lacaba (Filipino). They were kidnapped while heading to a local airport after visiting a Red Cross Water Sanitation Project at the provincial jail last January 15, 2009.


Thank God after a long "heart-thumping" time, they released Mary Jean today (April 2, 2009), unfortunately, leaving the two foreign nationals still in their captivity. According to them, the reason why they released Mary Jane is to prove everyone that they are "capable in serious negotiations". Based on latest reports, they're still holding on to their old political demands.
I'm happy that Mary Jean was released today, but I'll be more happy if they will also release the two foreign nationals who dedicated their lives in helping the most disadvantaged people in the world.





I'm now appealing to the Abu Sayyaf men (I hope that you'll be able to read this), like you, these men have families, children, loved ones... waiting and praying for them. Kidnappings and killings aren't the only way to voice out your demands. We know that you're only doing these for a reason. If you have problems with the government, so do we. But please, committing crimes won't solve it. Think about your families and kids, would you like them to live in this kind of world? I know that behind those guns, you still have the hearts.





People, please help me spread this post... just this once. I really want this to be read by these men. This may sound crazy, but I'm not killing my only little way to help the remaining hostages and to make this world peaceful for all of us.

April 1, 2009

Hongkong Columnist Chip Tsao calls Philippines as "Nation of Servants"

Share



Wow, I just can't imagine how a famous and best-selling Hong-Kong author and columnist like Chip Tsao can write an article promoting racism against his neighbor country, the Philippines. In his article, he calls the Philippines as "Nation of Servants" because of the "Spratly Island" issue.

Here's the original article he wrote:

Title: The War At Home

Dated: March 27th, 2009

Source: http://hk-magazine.com/feature/war-home


The Russians sank a Hong Kong freighter last month, killing the seven
Chinese seamen on board. We can live with that—Lenin and Stalin were once the
ideological mentors of all Chinese people. The Japanese planted a flag on Diàoyú
Island. That’s no big problem—we Hong Kong Chinese love Japanese cartoons, Hello
Kitty, and shopping in Shinjuku, let alone our round-the-clock obsession with
karaoke.
But hold on—even the Filipinos? Manila has just claimed sovereignty
over the scattered rocks in the South China Sea called the Spratly Islands,
complete with a blatant threat from its congress to send gunboats to the South
China Sea to defend the islands from China if necessary. This is beyond
reproach. The reason: there are more than 130,000 Filipina maids working as
$3,580-a-month cheap labor in Hong Kong. As a nation of servants, you don’t flex
your muscles at your master, from whom you earn most of your bread and
butter.
As a patriotic Chinese man, the news has made my blood boil. I
summoned Louisa, my domestic assistant who holds a degree in international
politics from the University of Manila, hung a map on the wall, and gave her a
harsh lecture. I sternly warned her that if she wants her wages increased next
year, she had better tell every one of her compatriots in Statue Square on
Sunday that the entirety of the Spratly Islands belongs to China.
Grimly, I
told her that if war breaks out between the Philippines and China, I would have
to end her employment and send her straight home, because I would not risk the
crime of treason for sponsoring an enemy of the state by paying her to wash my
toilet and clean my windows 16 hours a day. With that money, she would pay taxes
to her government, and they would fund a navy to invade our motherland and
deeply hurt my feelings.
Oh yes. The government of the Philippines would
certainly be wrong if they think we Chinese are prepared to swallow their insult
and sit back and lose a Falkland Islands War in the Far East. They may have
Barack Obama and the hawkish American military behind them, but we have a
hostage in each of our homes in the Mid-Levels or higher. Some of my friends
told me they have already declared a state of emergency at home. Their maids
have been made to shout “China, Madam/Sir” loudly whenever they hear the word
“Spratly.” They say the indoctrination is working as wonderfully as when we used
to shout, “Long live Chairman Mao!” at the sight of a portrait of our Great
Leader during the Cultural Revolution. I’m not sure if that’s going a bit too
far, at least for the time being.

My Source: http://www.talkloud.info/2009/03/chip-tsao-called-philippines-a-nation-of-servants/

I was deeply hurt. He mentioned that he's a patriotric Chinese man, then he should know what it feels like to be insulted. I feel for Louisa, I'm sure that this racist is giving her a hard time because "she's a Filipina". He should send her back home immediately if that's the case. We can no longer afford if there'll be another abused OFW coming back home inside a box.

Did he ever think of how these "servants" helped his dear country? Did he ever think of how these Filipinos contribute to all the household chores while he and his countrymen are out for work... taking care of their children while their real children back home suffer from loneliness? Did he ever imagine how hard it is to be miles and miles away from his family for 2, 3,4 or 10 years just to ensure their living? Probably not.

For you Chip Tsao, I hope you're enjoying the fame. Happy, now? Your public apology can not easily heal the wounded hearts of my countrymen. Damages have been done. What's next?!


ShareThis

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Just My Personal Opinions © Template by Pink Diamond